SYLLABUS

INEW 2438 Advanced Java Programming

Fall 2009

 

1.       Course Registration Number (CRN): 18233

2.       Course Code and Name: INEW 2438 Advanced Java Programming

3.       Instructor Name: Dr. Xuan Dai Pham

Tutor: Mr. Cuong Cao Pham

4.       Semester: Fall 2009

5.       Campus and Room Location with Days and Times:

Lecture:

Quang Trung Tower, Room 704

Monday, 14:40 - 16:10

Wednesday, 14:40 - 16:10

Lab:

Quang Trung Tower, Room 704

Tuesday, 16:20 - 17:50

Thursday, 14:40 - 16:10

6.       Instructor Contact Information:

Tel.: (84-8) 37155033, ext. 1551

Email: xuanpd@saigontech.edu.vn

Website: http://www.saigontech.edu.vn/faculty/XuanPD/

Tutor Contact Information:

Tel.: (84-8) 37155033, ext. 1684

Email: cuongpc@saigontech.edu.vn

 

7.       Instructor Scheduled Office Hours:

Office: Quang Trung Tower, Room 610

Officer Hours: 7:30 17:00, everyday, or by appointment

Tutor Scheduled Office Hours:

Office: Quang Trung Tower, Room 610

Officer Hours: 7:30 17:00, everyday, or by appointment

8.       Course Goals and Objectives:

Prerequisite: It is required that students must have some basic computer literacy, algebra (MATH 1314), and programming fundamentals I (COSC 1437). Furthermore, an English proficiency skill (reading and writing) is needed to undertake the course.

 

Credit: 4 (2 Lecture, 2 Lab, 1.5 hours each)

 

Course Goals and Objectives: The main focus of this course is to introduce advanced concepts of Java language such as multithreading, network programming, client-server networking model, socket programming, accessing database using JDBC drivers and SQL statements, Java security features, and localization and internationalization.

 

9.       Textbooks:

Book Title

Authors

ISBN

Publisher

Core Java Volume II Advanced Features, 8ed

Cay S. Horstmann and Gary Cornell

978-0-13-235479-0

Prentice Hall, 2008

 

10.   Other Required Materials, Development Tools:

Chapter 14, Core Java Volume I Fundamentals, 8ed, Cay S. Horstmann and Gary Cornell, Prentice Hall, 2008.

Java development tool: Eclipse 3.4.0

11.   Course Policies on Make-up Exams, Late Assignments, Tardiness:

Students are expected to take each exam on the scheduled dates. Make-up exams are not guaranteed, but are granted at the discretion of the instructor. If make-up exams are allowed, it is necessary to make arrangements with the instructor prior to exam date.

Students will not be able to submit assignments after the due/closing date.

12.   Grading scheme and passing grade:

 

In-class Test 1

10%

In-class Test 2

10%

Homework Assignments, Projects

30%

Mid-term Exam

25%

Final Exam

25%

 

The final grade will be evaluated based on the final score as below:

Grade

Final Score

A Excellent

90 100

B Good

80 89

C Fair

70 79

D Minimal

60 69

F Failure

0 59

 

The passing grade of this course is D.

13.   Course Calendar:

 

Week

Date

Topic

Note

1

Monday, Sept. 14, 2009

Multithreading

Chapter 14 (Core Java I) Basic Concepts The Bouncing Ball Problem

Tuesday, Sept. 15, 2009

Tutor Session

 

Wednesday, Sept. 16, 2009

Multithreading

Chapter 14 (Core Java I) More About Threads Synchronization

Thursday, Sept. 17, 2009

Tutor Session

 

2

Monday, Sept. 21, 2009

Multithreading

Chapter 14 (Core Java I) Threads and Swing

Tuesday, Sept. 22, 2009

Tutor Session

 

Wednesday, Sept. 23, 2009

Streams and Files

Chapter 1 Streams and Files

Thursday, Sept. 24, 2009

Tutor Session

 

3

Monday, Sept. 28, 2009

Streams and Files

Chapter 1 Streams and Files Regular Expressions

Tuesday, Sept. 29, 2009

Tutor Session

 

Wednesday, Sept. 30, 2009

XML

Chapter 2 XML

Thursday, Oct. 1, 2009

Tutor Session

 

4

Monday, Oct. 5, 2009

XML

Chapter 2 XML

Tuesday, Oct. 6, 2009

Tutor Session

 

Wednesday, Oct. 7, 2009

Networking

Chapter 3 The Echo Server Problem

Thursday, Oct. 8, 2009

Tutor Session

 

5

Monday, Oct. 12, 2009

Networking

Chapter 3 Sending E-Mail

Tuesday, Oct. 13, 2009

Tutor Session

 

Wednesday, Oct. 14, 2009

IN-CLASS TEST1

 

Thursday, Oct. 15, 2009

Tutor Session

 

6

Monday, Oct. 19, 2009

Networking

Chapter 3 Chat Problem

Tuesday, Oct. 20, 2009

Tutor Session

 

Wednesday, Oct. 21, 2009

Database Programming

Chapter 4 Basic JDBC Programming Concepts - The Greetings Problem

Thursday, Oct. 22, 2009

Tutor Session

 

7

Monday, Oct. 26, 2009

Database Programming

Chapter 4 Basic JDBC Programming Concepts - The Bookstore Problem

Tuesday, Oct. 27, 2009

Tutor Session

 

Wednesday, Oct. 28, 2009

Database Programming

Chapter 4 Basic JDBC Programming Concepts - The Bookstore Problem

Thursday, Oct. 29, 2009

Tutor Session

 

8

Monday, Nov. 2, 2009

Database Programming

Chapter 4 Basic JDBC Programming Concepts - Metadata Transactions

Tuesday, Nov. 3, 2009

Tutor Session

 

Wednesday, Nov. 4, 2009

Internationalization

Chapter 5 Some Concepts The Number Format Problem

Thursday, Nov. 5, 2009

Tutor Session

 

9

Monday, Nov. 9, 2009

Internationalization

Chapter 5 The Date Format Problem, Collation, Resource Bundle

Tuesday, Nov. 10, 2009

Tutor Session

 

Wednesday, Nov. 11, 2009

Advanced Swing

Chapter 6 Advanced Swing - Lists Tables

Thursday, Nov. 12, 2009

MIDTERM EXAM

 

10

Monday, Nov. 16, 2009

Advanced Swing

Chapter 6 Advanced Swing - Trees,

Tuesday, Nov. 17, 2009

Tutor Session

 

Wednesday, Nov. 18, 2009

Advanced AWT

Text-Components Chapter 7 Rendering Pipeline

Thursday, Nov. 19, 2009

Tutor Session

 

11

Monday, Nov. 23, 2009

Advanced AWT

Chapter 7 Strokes

Tuesday, Nov. 24, 2009

Tutor Session

 

Wednesday, Nov. 25, 2009

Advanced AWT

Chapter 7 Paint, Coordinate Transformations, Clipping, Transparency, Rendering Hints

Thursday, Nov. 26, 2009

Tutor Session

 

12

Monday, Nov. 30, 2009

JavaBeans Components

Chapter 8 The Clipboard, JavaBeans

Tuesday, Dec. 1, 2009

Tutor Session

 

Wednesday, Dec. 2, 2009

JavaBeans Components

Chapter 8 JavaBeans

Thursday, Dec. 3, 2009

Tutor Session

 

13

Monday, Dec. 7, 2009

Security

Chapter 9 Class Loaders

Tuesday, Dec. 8, 2009

Tutor Session

 

Wednesday, Dec. 9, 2009

IN-CLASS TEST2

 

Thursday, Dec. 10, 2009

Tutor Session

 

14

Monday, Dec. 14, 2009

Security

Chapter 9 Security Managers and Permissions

Tuesday, Dec. 15, 2009

Tutor Session

 

Wednesday, Dec. 16, 2009

Security

Chapter 9 Authentication and Authorization

Thursday, Dec. 17, 2009

Tutor Session

 

15

Monday, Dec. 21, 2009

Distributed Objects

Chapter 10 Distributed Objects

Tuesday, Dec. 22, 2009

Tutor Session

 

Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009

Distributed Objects

Chapter 10 Distributed Objects

Thursday, Dec. 24, 2009

Tutor Session

 

16

Monday, Dec. 28, 2009

Distributed Objects

Chapter 10 Distributed Objects

Tuesday, Dec. 29, 2009

Tutor Session

 

Wednesday, Dec. 30, 2009

FINAL EXAM

 

Thursday, Dec. 31, 2009

Tutor Session