SYLLABUS

COSC 1436 – Programming Fundamentals I

Spring 2009

 

1.       Course Registration Number (CRN):       75707

2.       Course Code and Name:                               COSC 1436 – Programming Fundamentals I

3.       Instructor Name:                                             Dr. Xuan Dai Pham

Tutor:                                                                    Mr. Thanh Viet Nguyen

4.       Semester:                                                           Spring 2009

5.       Campus and Room Location with Days and Times:

Lecture:

Quang Trung Tower, Room 711

Monday,  10:50 - 12:20

Wednesday, 10:50 - 12:20

Lab:

Quang Trung Tower, Room 711

Tuesday, 10:50 - 12:20

Thursday, 10:50 - 12:20

6.       Instructor Contact Information:

Tel.:  (84-8) 37155033, ext. 1551

Email: xuanpd@saigontech.edu.vn

Website: http://www.saigontech.edu.vn/faculty/XuanPD/

Tutor Contact Information:

Tel.:  (84-8) 37155033, ext. 1212

Email: thanhnv@saigontech.edu.vn

 

7.       Instructor Scheduled Office Hours:

Office:  Quang Trung Tower, Room 610

Officer Hours: 7:30 – 17:00, everyday, or by appointment

Tutor Scheduled Office Hours:

Office:  Quang Trung Tower, Room 208

Officer Hours: 7:30 – 17:00, everyday, or by appointment

8.       Course Goals and Objectives:

Prerequisite: It is required that students must have some basic computer literacy and algebra (MATH 1314). Furthermore, an English proficiency skill (reading and writing) is needed to undertake the course.

 

Credit: 4 (2 Lecture, 2 Lab, 1.5 hours each)

 

Course Goals and Objectives: The main focus of this course is to introduce the fundamental concepts of structured programming.  Topics include software development methodology, data types, control structures, functions, arrays, and the mechanics of running, testing, and debugging.  This course assumes computer literacy.

To introduce the student to a variety of terms, definitions, and concepts that apply to the structure programming. Students will learn fundamentals of Java, decisions structures, loops and files, methods, classes, GUI applications, and Arrays in Java. Classroom instruction, review questions, and homework assignments will be combined for a comprehensive study. For transcript credit, students will be thoroughly tested on their ability to recall concepts about programming using Java and use computers to write programs.

 

9.       Textbooks:

Book Title

Authors

ISBN

Publisher

Starting Out with Java from Control Structures through Data Structures, 1st Edition. (Chapters 1-8)

Tony Gaddis, Godfrey Muganda

0-321-49176-9

Addison-Wesley

 

10.   Development Tools:

The course will use the following Java development tool:  Eclipse 3.4.0

11.   Course Policies on Make-up Exams, Late Assignments, Tardiness:

Students are expected to take each exam on the scheduled dates. Make-up exams are not guaranteed, but are granted at the discretion of the instructor. If make-up exams are allowed, it is necessary to make arrangements with the instructor prior to exam date.

Students will not be able to submit assignments after the due/closing date.

12.   Grading scheme  and passing grade:

 

In-class Test 1

10%

In-class Test 2

10%

Review Questions, Homework Assignments

30%

Mid-term Exam

25%

Final Exam

25%

 

                The final grade will be evaluated based on the final score as below:

Grade

Final Score

A – Excellent

90 – 100

B – Good

80 – 89

C – Fair

70 – 79

D – Minimal

60 – 69

F – Failure

0 – 59

 

The passing grade of this course is D.

13.   Course Calendar:

 

Week

Date

Topic

Note

1

Monday, Feb. 2, 2009

Introduction to the Course

Introduction to Computers and Java

Chapter 1 - Introduction to Computers and Java

Wednesday, Feb. 4, 2009

Introduction to Computers and Java

Chapter 1 - Introduction to Computers and Java

2

Monday, Feb. 9, 2009

Java Fundamentals

Chapter 2 – Java Fundamentals

Wednesday, Feb. 11, 2009

Java Fundamentals

Chapter 2 – Java Fundamentals

3

Monday, Feb. 16, 2009

Java Fundamentals

Chapter 2 – Java Fundamentals

Wednesday, Feb. 18, 2009

Decision Structures

Chapter 3

4

Monday, Feb. 23, 2009

Decision Structures

Chapter 3

Wednesday, Feb. 25, 2009

Decision Structures

Chapter 3

5

Monday, Mar. 2, 2009

IN-CLASS TEST 1

 

Wednesday, Mar. 4, 2009

Loops and Files

Chapter 4

6

Monday, Mar. 9, 2009

Loops and Files

Chapter 4

Wednesday, Mar. 11, 2009

Loops and Files

Chapter 4

7

Monday, Mar. 16, 2009

Loops and Files

Chapter 4

Wednesday, Mar. 18, 2009

Methods

Chapter 5

8

Monday, Mar. 23, 2009

Methods – Mid-term Review

Chapter 5

Wednesday, Mar. 25, 2009

MID-TERM EXAM

 

9

Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Methods

Chapter 5

Wednesday, Apr. 1, 2009

Methods

Chapter 5

10

Monday, Apr. 6, 2009

 

King Hung’s anniversary vacation

Wednesday, Apr. 8, 2009

A First Look at Classes

Chapter 6

11

Monday, Apr. 13, 2009

A First Look at Classes

Chapter 6

Wednesday, Apr. 15, 2009

A First Look at Classes

Chapter 6

12

Monday, Apr. 20, 2009

A First Look at Classes

Chapter 6

Wednesday, Apr. 22, 2009

IN-CLASS TEST 2

 

13

Monday, Apr. 27, 2009

A First Look at GUI Applications

Chapter 7

Wednesday, Apr. 29, 2009

A First Look at GUI Applications

Chapter 7

14

Monday, May 4, 2009

A First Look at GUI Applications

Chapter 7

Wednesday, May 6, 2009

A First Look at GUI Applications

Chapter 7, Chapter 7

15

Monday, May 11, 2009

A First Look at GUI Applications

Chapter 7, Chapter 7

Wednesday, May 13, 2009

Arrays and Arraylist Class

Chapter 8

16

Monday, May 18, 2009

Arrays and Arraylist Class

Chapter 8, Chapter 8

Wednesday, May 20, 2009

Arrays and Arraylist Class – Final Review

Chapter 8

17

Monday, May 25, 2009

FINAL EXAM