SYLLABUS

COSC 1437 – Programming Fundamentals II

Spring 2009

 

1.       Course Registration Number (CRN):       73678

2.       Course Code and Name:                               COSC 1437 – Programming Fundamentals II

3.       Instructor Name:                                             Dr. Xuan Dai Pham

Tutor:                                                                    Mr. Luong Van Le

4.       Semester:                                                           Spring 2009

5.       Campus and Room Location with Days and Times:

Lecture:

Quang Trung Tower, Room 706

Monday,  7:30 - 9:00

Wednesday, 7:30 - 9:00

Lab:

Quang Trung Tower, Room 706

Tuesday, 13:00 - 14:30

Thursday, 13:00 - 14:30

6.       Instructor Contact Information:

Tel.:  (84-8) 37155033, ext. 1551

Email: xuanpd@saigontech.edu.vn

Website: http://www.saigontech.edu.vn/faculty/XuanPD/

Tutor Contact Information:

Tel.:  (84-8) 37155033, ext. 1684

Email: luonglv@saigontech.edu.vn

 

7.       Instructor Scheduled Office Hours:

Office: Quang Trung Tower, Room 610

Officer Hours: 7:30 – 17:00, everyday, or by appointment

Tutor Scheduled Office Hours:

Office: Quang Trung Tower, Room 610

Officer Hours: 7:30 – 17:00, everyday, or by appointment

8.       Course Goals and Objectives:

Prerequisite: It is required that students must have some basic computer literacy, algebra (MATH 1314), and programming fundamentals I (COSC 1436). Furthermore, an English proficiency skill (reading and writing) is needed to undertake the course.

 

Credit: 4 (2 Lecture, 2 Lab, 1.5 hours each)

 

Course Goals and Objectives: The main focus of this course is to introduce advanced concepts of structured programming. In this course, students learns through more advanced topics, such as inheritance, polymorphism, the creation and management packages, advanced GUI applications, and recursion.

 

9.       Textbooks:

Book Title

Authors

ISBN

Publisher

Starting Out with Java from Control Structures through Objects, 3rd Edition. (Chapters 9-15) 

Tony Gaddis

0-321-47927-0

Addison-Wesley

 

10.   Development Tools:

The course will use the following Java development tool:  Eclipse 3.4.0

11.   Course Policies on Make-up Exams, Late Assignments, Tardiness:

Students are expected to take each exam on the scheduled dates. Make-up exams are not guaranteed, but are granted at the discretion of the instructor. If make-up exams are allowed, it is necessary to make arrangements with the instructor prior to exam date.

Students will not be able to submit assignments after the due/closing date.

12.   Grading scheme  and passing grade:

 

In-class Test 1

10%

In-class Test 2

10%

Review Questions, Homework Assignments

30%

Mid-term Exam

25%

Final Exam

25%

 

                The final grade will be evaluated based on the final score as below:

Grade

Final Score

A – Excellent

90 – 100

B – Good

80 – 89

C – Fair

70 – 79

D – Minimal

60 – 69

F – Failure

0 – 59

 

The passing grade of this course is D.

13.   Course Calendar:

 

Week

Date

Topic

Note

1

Monday, Feb. 2, 2009

A Second Look at Classes and Objects

Chapter 9 – Static Class Members

Wednesday, Feb. 4, 2009

A Second Look at Classes and Objects

Chapter 9 – 9.2, 9.3,  9.4, 9.5, 9.6

2

Monday, Feb. 9, 2009

A Second Look at Classes and Objects

Chapter 9 - Aggregation

Wednesday, Feb. 11, 2009

A Second Look at Classes and Objects

Chapter 9 – 9.8, 9.9, 9.10

3

Monday, Feb. 16, 2009

Text Processing and More about Wrapper Classes

Chapter 10 – Introduction to Wrapper Classes

Wednesday, Feb. 18, 2009

Text Processing and More about Wrapper Classes

Chapter 10 (Cont’d)

4

Monday, Feb. 23, 2009

Text Processing and More about Wrapper Classes

Chapter 10 (Cont’d)

Wednesday, Feb. 25, 2009

IN-CLASS TEST 1

Test 1

5

Monday, Mar. 2, 2009

Inheritance

Chapter 11

Wednesday, Mar. 4, 2009

Inheritance

Chapter 11

6

Monday, Mar. 9, 2009

Inheritance

Chapter 11

Wednesday, Mar. 11, 2009

Inheritance

Chapter 11 , Basic Patterns

7

Monday, Mar. 16, 2009

Exceptions and Advanced File I/O

Chapter 12

Wednesday, Mar. 18, 2009

Exceptions and Advanced File I/O

Chapter 12, Composite Pattern

8

Monday, Mar. 23, 2009

Exceptions and Advanced File I/O

Mid-term Review

Chapter 12

Wednesday, Mar. 25, 2009

MID-TERM EXAM

Mid-term Exam

9

Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Advanced GUI Applications

Chapter 13

Wednesday, Apr. 1, 2009

Advanced GUI Applications

Chapter 13, Visitor Pattern

10

Monday, Apr. 6, 2009

 

King Hung’s anniversary vacation

Wednesday, Apr. 8, 2009

Advanced GUI Applications

Chapter 13, Adapter Pattern

11

Monday, Apr. 13, 2009

Advanced GUI Applications

Chapter 13, Command Pattern

Wednesday, Apr. 15, 2009

Advanced GUI Applications

Chapter 13, State Pattern

12

Monday, Apr. 20, 2009

Advanced GUI Applications

Chapter 13

Wednesday, Apr. 22, 2009

IN-CLASS TEST 2

 

13

Monday, Apr. 27, 2009

Advanced GUI Applications

Chapter 13, State Pattern

Wednesday, Apr. 29, 2009

Applets and More

Chapter 14

14

Monday, May 4, 2009

Applets and More

Chapter 14

Wednesday, May 6, 2009

Applets and More

Chapter 14

15

Monday, May 11, 2009

Applets and More

Chapter 14

Wednesday, May 13, 2009

Recursion

Chapter 15

16

Monday, May 18, 2009

Recursion

Chapter 15

Wednesday, May 20, 2009

Final Review

 

17

Monday, May 25, 2009

FINAL EXAM